Foraging Dandelions

This summer, I am doing an internship with the Hacienda Market Garden in Kitchener. More about this internship later – but for now, my point is I’m not earning too much moneys! Just having graduated this April, I’ve become more aware of my spending habits as I think about finding work and choosing where to live…I’m not a student anymore! It’s time to be responsible! (Apparently, haha.) 

My wise friend Jacob assured me – as I worried about finances – that being a creative person, I could probably find some ways to save money. It’s true – saving money…this could be kind of fun! (I’m grateful that I am far from true poverty, as I know there is much help and support from family and friends should I just ask) 

So one of my first creative ventures – foraging dandelions! Here I am in our backyard killing two birds with one stone – “weeding”, and gathering tasty greens to eat!

Image

3 thoughts on “Foraging Dandelions

  1. They tasted a bit bitter – like arugula I guess. Not altogether bad though! I tried it both raw and cooked. I’d say if eaten in salad, they would go well with some other milder greens as well. They were pretty good cooked! Definitely will be trying to eat more of this.

Leave a Reply

